• Colonie de la baie du Massachusetts, 1672. Mary Rowlandson vit dans une communauté de puritains venus d'Angleterre. Bonne mère, bonne épouse, elle souffre néanmoins de la rigidité morale étouffante qui règne parmi les siens. Si elle essaie d'accomplir tous ses devoirs, elle se sent de plus en plus comme un oiseau en cage. Celle-ci va être ouverte de façon violente lorsque des Indiens attaquent son village et la font prisonnière. Mary doit alors épouser le quotidien souvent terrible de cette tribu en fuite, traquée par l'armée. Contre toute attente, c'est au milieu de ces « sauvages » qu'elle va trouver une liberté qu'elle n'aurait jamais imaginée. Les moeurs qu'elle y découvre, que ce soit le rôle des femmes, l'éducation des enfants, la communion avec la nature, lui font remettre en question tous ses repères. Et, pour la première fois, elle va enfin pouvoir se demander qui elle est et ce qu'elle veut vraiment. Cette renaissance pourra-t-elle s'accoutumer d'un retour « à la normale », dans une société blanche dont l'hypocrisie lui est désormais insupportable ?

    Cette magnifique épopée romanesque, inspirée de la véritable histoire de Mary Rowlandson, est à la fois un portrait de femme bouleversant et un vibrant hommage à une culture bouillonnante de vie, que la « civilisation » s'est efforcée d'anéantir.

  • B>An evocative new novel about Emily Dickinson''s longtime maid, Margaret Maher, whose bond with the poet--and ultimate betrayal--ensured Dickinson''s legacy would live on, from the USA Today bestselling author of Flight of the Sparrow, Amy Belding Brown./b> br> br>Massachusetts, 1869. Margaret Maher has never been one to settle down. At twenty-seven, she''s never met a man who has tempted her enough to relinquish her independence to a matrimonial fate, and she hasn''t stayed in one place for long since her family fled the potato famine a decade ago.br>br>When Maggie accepts a temporary position at the illustrious Dickinson family home in Amherst, it''s only to save up enough for a ticket west to join her brothers in California. Maggie never imagines she will form a life-altering friendship with the eccentric, brilliant Miss Emily or that she''ll stay at the Homestead for the next thirty years.br>br>In this richly drawn novel, Amy Belding Brown explores what it is to be an outsider looking in, and she sheds light on one of Dickinson''s closest confidantes--perhaps the person who knew the mysterious poet best--whose quiet act changed history and continues to influence literature to this very day.

  • A compelling, emotionally gripping* novel of historical fiction--perfect for readers of Americas First Daughter . Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676 . Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her. Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance. READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

empty